Programs, laws and costs in New York: find a program

Service Dog Programs and Trainers in New York

Updated · Sources are cited in the text

This page explains the law in general terms. It is not legal advice. For a specific situation, contact the agency listed on this site or an attorney.

People looking for service dog organizations in New York usually want the same few answers. Who does the program serve? Does it cost anything? Is it accredited? How do I start?

This guide lists eight programs, shows what each one publishes about itself, and says plainly where the published information stops. It does not rank them. A program that is right for a guide dog partner may be the wrong fit for a family seeking an autism service dog, and the reverse.

One note before the list. Fees, waitlists and eligibility change, and several programs do not publish them. Treat this page as a starting map and confirm every detail with the program.

What counts as a service dog in New York

Two definitions apply here, and they match closely.

The ADA, as explained on ADA.gov, says service animals are dogs individually trained to do work or perform tasks for people with disabilities. Dogs whose sole function is comfort or emotional support do not qualify.

New York's Civil Rights Law § 47-b defines a service dog by reference to the federal ADA regulations. It means a dog under the control of the person using or training it that has been, or is being, individually trained to do work or perform tasks for a person with a disability. Agriculture and Markets Law § 108(22) uses similar wording.

Emotional support animals and therapy dogs are a different category. Agriculture and Markets Law § 108(26) treats therapy dogs separately. Several programs below also place facility dogs, which work in a setting such as a school or hospital. That is not the same thing as a service dog partnered with one person.

What ADI accreditation means

Assistance Dogs International (ADI) is an organization of assistance dog programs that accredits its members. Several of the programs below are listed as ADI accredited in ADI's member search. Others are not listed that way.

Accreditation tells you a program has been reviewed by an outside body. It does not tell you whether the program has openings, accepts your disability type, or fits your family. It also is not a legal requirement. Under the ADA, a dog does not need to come from an accredited program to be a service dog. The test is whether the dog is individually trained to do work or tasks related to a disability.

If a program is not marked ADI accredited, that does not mean it is poor. It means this page cannot confirm accreditation. Ask the program directly what standards it follows and who reviews it. You can look up members on the Assistance Dogs International member search.

Programs at a glance

The table shows what each program publishes. "Not published" means the program's source page did not state it, so contact the program.

ProgramLocationKindServesPublished costWaitlist
Guiding Eyes for the BlindYorktown HeightsNonprofitGuide dogsFree of chargeNot published
Guide Dog Foundation for the Blind, Inc.SmithtownADI accreditedGuide, mobilityNot publishedNot published
America's VetDogsSmithtownADI accreditedVeterans, active military; guide, hearing, mobility, PTSD, seizuresNo cost, including transportation to campusNot published
Canine Companions (Northeast Region)MedfordADI accreditedMobility, hearing, autism, military PTSD, veterans, children, facility dogsNo costNot published
Puppies Behind BarsNew YorkADI accreditedVeterans, first responders, PTSD, facility dogsNot publishedNot published
BluePath Service DogsCarmelADI accreditedAutism, children, familiesFree except a nominal equipment feeNot published
Clear Path for Veterans (Canine Program)ChittenangoADI accreditedVeterans with military PTSDAdoption fee begins at $3,000Not published
Paws With A CauseWayland, Michigan (serves New York)ADI accreditedMobility, hearing, autism, seizures, other medical, veterans, childrenNot publishedNot published

Every cost in the table comes from the program's own website. Programs can change their terms at any time.

Program by program: pros and cons

The pros and cons below only reflect what each program has published. Anything that is not published is listed as a question to ask.

Guiding Eyes for the Blind (Yorktown Heights)

Guiding Eyes describes itself as a 501(c)(3) nonprofit with all services provided completely free of charge.

  • Pros: Published as free of charge. Focused on guide dogs for people who are blind or have low vision.
  • Cons: Narrow focus, so it will not suit mobility, hearing or psychiatric needs. This page cannot confirm ADI accreditation.
  • Ask: Current wait times, eligibility requirements, and what accreditation or review the school holds.

Guide Dog Foundation for the Blind, Inc. (Smithtown)

The Guide Dog Foundation is listed as ADI accredited and serves guide and mobility work.

  • Pros: ADI accredited. Covers both guide and mobility needs.
  • Cons: No cost information was found on its main page.
  • Ask: Whether there is any cost to the client, how long the process takes, and what the application involves.

America's VetDogs (Smithtown)

America's VetDogs says all services are provided at no cost, including transportation to and from its Smithtown campus and instruction. It serves veterans and active military.

  • Pros: ADI accredited. Broad range of needs: guide, hearing, mobility, PTSD and seizures. Travel to campus is covered.
  • Cons: Open to veterans and active military, so civilians would need a different program.
  • Ask: Eligibility paperwork, how long applicants wait, and how the stay on campus works.

Canine Companions, Northeast Region (Medford)

Canine Companions says every service and facility dog, and all follow-up training and support, is provided at no cost.

  • Pros: ADI accredited. No cost for the dog or follow-up. Serves a wide range, including children, veterans and people with hearing or mobility disabilities.
  • Cons: It also places facility dogs, so be clear about which type of placement you are applying for. Wait times are not published.
  • Ask: Which placement fits your situation and how long the current wait is.

Puppies Behind Bars (New York)

Puppies Behind Bars runs a Dog Tags program that places service dogs with combat veterans who have a physical injury or PTSD. Its puppies are raised by incarcerated raisers, and the first group was at Green Haven Correctional Facility in Stormville.

  • Pros: ADI accredited. Serves veterans, first responders and PTSD needs.
  • Cons: Its homepage does not state whether dogs are free, and no wait time is published.
  • Ask: Cost, eligibility for each program, and whether first responders and veterans apply the same way.

BluePath Service Dogs (Carmel)

BluePath focuses on children with autism and their families. Its FAQ says that, apart from a nominal equipment fee, the dogs and lifetime follow-up support are provided free of charge.

  • Pros: ADI accredited. Family-centered. Lifetime follow-up support is part of the published model.
  • Cons: Narrow focus on autism. The amount of the equipment fee is not stated in the source used here.
  • Ask: The size of the equipment fee, age requirements, and the current wait.

Clear Path for Veterans, Canine Program (Chittenango)

Clear Path for Veterans places service dogs with veterans who have military PTSD. Its program page says the adoption fee begins at $3,000 and that the fee helps offset care, training and veterinary support.

  • Pros: ADI accredited. Fee is stated openly, which makes planning easier.
  • Cons: It is the only program here that publishes a fee of this kind, and "begins at" means the final amount may be higher. It is limited to veterans with military PTSD.
  • Ask: The total cost, payment options, and the current wait.

Paws With A Cause (Wayland, Michigan; serves New York)

Paws With A Cause is based in Michigan and lists New York in its service area. It is the only out-of-state program included here.

  • Pros: ADI accredited. Covers mobility, hearing, autism, seizures, other medical needs, veterans and children.
  • Cons: Not based in New York, so ask how training, travel and follow-up work for New York clients. Cost and wait are not published.
  • Ask: Where team training takes place and what travel is involved.

Who each program may fit

This is a way to narrow the list, not a ranking.

  • Blind or low vision: Guiding Eyes for the Blind and the Guide Dog Foundation for the Blind both list guide work. America's VetDogs does too, for veterans and active military.
  • Mobility or hearing disabilities: Canine Companions, Paws With A Cause, America's VetDogs and the Guide Dog Foundation (mobility) list these needs.
  • Autism, for a child and family: BluePath Service Dogs, Canine Companions and Paws With A Cause list autism.
  • Veterans or active military: America's VetDogs, Puppies Behind Bars, Clear Path for Veterans, Canine Companions and Paws With A Cause list veterans.
  • Veterans with PTSD: America's VetDogs, Clear Path for Veterans and Puppies Behind Bars list PTSD. Canine Companions lists military PTSD.
  • First responders: Puppies Behind Bars lists first responders.
  • Seizures or other medical needs: America's VetDogs lists seizures, and Paws With A Cause lists seizures and other medical needs.
  • Cost is the main constraint: Guiding Eyes, America's VetDogs and Canine Companions publish no-cost statements. BluePath publishes free service apart from a nominal equipment fee. Confirm each in writing before you plan around it.

Veteran-specific help

The U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs has a veterinary health benefit through its Prosthetic and Sensory Aids Service. It is described as provided to Veterans who are prescribed guide or service dogs, for vision, hearing or substantial mobility impairment. Approved Veterans are referred to agencies accredited by ADI or the International Guide Dog Federation. Details are on the VA service and guide dogs page.

You may see references to proposed New York grants for veterans' service dogs. Those bills have not been enacted, so do not plan around them.

How to apply

None of the sources used for this guide publishes a step-by-step application for every program, so the first step is the same for each one: go to the program's own website and read its eligibility and application pages. Then contact the program with your questions.

  1. Pick two or three programs whose published population matches your situation.
  2. Read the program's own page for eligibility, age limits and required documentation.
  3. Contact the program and ask about cost, current wait times and what happens after placement.
  4. Ask what follow-up training and support it provides.
  5. Apply to more than one program if the programs allow it, and ask about that when you call.

Waitlists are not published for any program on this page. Ask about them early, because they can shape your plans.

Service dog trainers in New York

No individual or private service dog trainer is listed in this guide, because there is no verified information to list. If you want a private trainer, ask for their methods in writing. Look for humane, reward-based training that matches the position of the American Veterinary Society of Animal Behavior. Avoid anyone who uses shock, prong or choke collars, or dominance methods.

New York law treats trainers in two ways, and the difference matters.

  • Civil Rights Law § 47-b(3) gives a person engaged in training a dog to guide or otherwise aid persons with a disability the same rights and privileges as persons with a disability, while engaged in that training. It is not limited to professionals. No age, harness or ID condition appears in the section.
  • Executive Law § 296(14) protects a "professional guide dog, hearing dog or service dog trainer," whether or not accompanied by the person for whom the dog is being trained.

The ADA, according to ADA.gov, does not cover service animals in training. Access for a dog in training rests on state law.

For a broader look at legal rights, program costs and what the law says in New York, see the guide on service dog training in New York: laws, programs and costs.

No registry, no certificate

There is no official service dog registry or required certification under the ADA. The state statutes reviewed for this guide also contain no registry, ID or tag program. Graduating from a program is useful for training, support and follow-up, but it is not a legal condition of having a service dog.

Under the ADA, staff at a business may ask only two questions when it is not obvious what a dog does. According to ADA.gov, they are whether the dog is a service animal required because of a disability, and what work or task the dog has been trained to perform.

Local dog license fees are a separate matter. Agriculture and Markets Law § 110(2) lets municipalities choose to exempt service dogs and certain other dogs from license fees, so the rules vary by town and city. Check with your local clerk.

If your rights are denied

Civil Rights Law § 47 bars denying anyone admittance to or equal use of a public facility because they are accompanied by a guide, hearing or service dog. Section 47-b bars an extra charge for admitting the dog. Under Civil Rights Law § 47-c, violating § 47 or § 47-b(1)-(2) two or more times within two years is a violation punishable by a $1,000 fine. Penal Law § 242.05 makes interfering with, harassing or intimidating a service animal a class B misdemeanor. Section 242.10 makes causing physical injury or death to a service animal a class A misdemeanor.

This is not legal advice. For discrimination complaints, contact the New York State Division of Human Rights.

Verdict

No single program on this list is right for everyone, and this guide does not rank them. The published information supports a few conclusions.

  • Match the population first. Each program's published focus will rule several of these programs in or out within a few minutes.
  • Treat cost statements as a starting point. Four programs publish no-cost or near-free terms, one publishes a fee starting at $3,000, and three publish nothing. Get the final terms in writing.
  • Use accreditation as one factor. ADI accreditation is a useful outside check, but it does not replace asking about wait times, follow-up and fit.
  • Do not rely on a certificate or registry. Neither the ADA nor New York statutes require one.

The most practical next step is to shortlist two or three programs, call each one with the same list of questions, and compare their answers.

Sources